Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ruin Floyd posts by adjusting height under tension?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ruin Floyd posts by adjusting height under tension?

Can you ruin Floyd posts by adjusting height under tension?

I have often wondered if I should actually detune considerably before raising or lowering the posts height.

Considering the workout the posts and knife edges get from regular use, I can't imagine that rotating the posts a few turns is going to ruin them if it is under tension.

I think you'd be worse off adjusting them if the strings were loose so the trem was tilted back. And the only way to adjust them with no tension would be to remove the strings and the trem completely. And that would suck, if you had to repeat the adjustment several times to get the action set right.

But I'm no expert on the matter.

- E.
    Good Lord! The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up its butt!

Comment

If it is made of plastic, probably.

Comment

Originally posted by vklobucar View Post
        Can you ruin Floyd posts by adjusting height under tension?
        Yes, definitely. I have done it.

Depends on what bridge you have. I wouldn't worry about an OFR, but as for the JT-580LP - yes, been there, done that.

Comment

This subject comes up from time to time, and it's always a good place to recommend lubricating your posts & knife edges to help cut down on the wear. Any good lube will do. Some recommend the new super lubricants that supposedly "bond" to the metal, but I don't know if that's necessary. I've used anything from WD-40 to a little bit of Mobil 1 synthetic oil on a Q-tip, and I've had great results. I think some people even use Chap-Stick. I definitely agree with Sunbane that the quality & hardness of the metal is probably the most important thing. Licensed trems have problems way more often than an OFR.