Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Checking pickup output to verify wiring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Checking pickup output to verify wiring?

I just swapped out the pups in my Dinky and since this is my first attempt at a rewire, I'd like to verify my work. Background info that leads me to the question: Original pups were Jackson's with active circuitry, hum/single...new ones are Dimarzio D-sonic in bridge and Dimarzio Air Norton S in the neck spot. Three way blade switch wired for bridge/two center coils in parallel/neck. All of the old wiring and pots/switches were removed and I started with all new everything, except the ground wires that run from the pickup routes and the trem ground. When I first tested it they sounded thin and weak so I went back and checked the schematic and found that I had missed the jumper wire that goes from one side of the switch to the other. Adding it made no difference. The more I thought about it, I don't think I should have gotten any sound at all from the bridge pickup without that wire (correct?). I have since redone about 50% of the solder joints (I was skeptical about the ground attachments at the volume pot) and they sound better but I still wonder if I'm getting the whole enchilada as far as output. Can I check this with a multimeter? I expected more grunt from the D-Sonic. It is quite possible that I just need to adjust to the new tone, and make adjustments to my amp settings, but before I do that I'd like to know that I did a good wiring job. I'll post the schematic in a few.
    Last edited by Balrog; 09-03-2008, 07:12 PM.
    Mike
    ---------
    1991 Dinky - Custom Shop
    Dean EVO "Special Select"
    Mesa/Boogie Mark IV
    Mesa Rectifier 2x12

Pickup height is very important. Also, the active pups should have come with a stereo output jack. It shouldn't make a difference, but if you are anal you should put a mono output jack in there for passive pups.

Comment