low action

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• low action

hey guys, i just played a jem @ guitar center and the action was crazy low, it inspired me to tweak with my rg. after tightening the truss rod, shimming the nut, and lowering the bridge i got it pretty low. i have been playing for 6 months now so lower is better for me. have figured out most of the tech side of it, you know wiring, setting a guitar up, and messin with floyd roses. just curious how high u guys like yours at.
    Maybe the dingo at your baby?

depends on the guitar. I like the action a little higher on a tele than my Md. 6 where i like it low. The bridge type and fret board radius may dictate the action.
    ...that taste like tart, lemon yogart

Comment

I like mine as low as I can possibly get it without buzzing so much I can hear it thru the amp.

On the other hand, George Lynch likes his action higher, so you have to fight with the strings.

Go figure.

Comment

yeah i like mine as low as possible too!
        Maybe the dingo at your baby?

Comment

Yea i need my action LOW... i have a light touch and small hands so low action is a must .

Comment

I have small hands, but prefer higher action. It's a little wierd to others, but i'm perfectly fine with it.
            sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by randyrhoadsguitar View Post
              I have small hands, but prefer higher action. It's a little wierd to others, but i'm perfectly fine with it.
              Same here. I guess my action is more medium and not too high, though. I can deal with a little bit of string buzz when it's lower, but I don't really care for it too low, especially since I tend to pick a little harder.
              I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

I used to keep mine ultra low but now I prefer it medium-high. My strat with jumbo frets and scalloped fretboard feels like the action is almost acoustic-high if you're not used to it.

Comment