Installing EMG 85

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing EMG 85

I am a relative tech noob and I have a Jackson RX10D, with a seymour duncan in the neck, and a dimarzio in the bridge. I am looking to replace the Dimarzio with an EMG, but I only want an 85 in the bridge, as I love the warm tones that come with the current neck pickup.
    Is it all possible to install just one active pickup? without routing out any of the body (it has a floyd rose)?
    And how would I go about installing this pickup???

Thanks

Mixing active and passive pickups is not really recommended (even worse if you don' have much experience) but it can be done.

But be aware since they can share pots or you 'll lose the tone know (using 2 separate volume pots one for each pickup) or you can add pots to your guitar (this implies mdrilling it ).
    You can also made some strnage experiments like leaving a fixed volume to one of the pickups and using the tone knob with just one of the pickups, etc.

So my advice go active (both pickups) or stay passive don't mix.
    Last edited by Diego; 06-26-2008, 07:42 PM.
    sigpicPlayForFun

Comment

okay thanks Broseph, I really appreciate it.

Comment

EMG sells the PA2 that would work on your passive.

http://www.emginc.com/displayproduct...&catalogid=135

From EMG FAQ
        Can I mix EMG's with passive pickups?

It is possible to mix EMG's with passive pickups. There are three possible wiring configurations; one is better than the other two.