Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should you stay with the stock pickup or not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should you stay with the stock pickup or not?

When companys pick what pickups to go on a guitar, do they do research on wich one acctually sound better on that particular guitar expecially on there high end models?

I have a Kramer Stagemaster (for those who don't know it its a nect-thru body with ebony fretboard guitar) comes with a JB from factory but the guy that had it before me put an Air Zone in it, it sounds good, but I think and it can sound way better. I don't have the experience on many pickups to actually know how each one sounds like, but my ¨guess¨ is that maybe with a SD Distortion or Custom it will sound better. What do you all think?
    '87 Kramer Stagemaster Custom
    '81 Kramer Pacer Standard
    custom made Les Paul
    VOX Tonelab LE
    Epiphone Valve Jr. moded!!!
    ADA MP1
    BBE 422A
    Lexicon MPX-G2
    ADA Microtube 100

AFFA
    Support Your Local 81

Do you know what kind of wood the body is made of? That's a huge factor when choosing a pickup. Some manufacturers get it, some don't. I generally don't care for Jackson's choice of the JB/Jazz combo in so many of their guitars, but it does sound good in some. My ash DR2 USA came with a Screamin' Demon in the bridge stock and sounded like garbage, but I switched to a Full Shred and loved it. Meanwhile, the Demon was a much better match for a basswood body.

I would guess that most builders probably opt for a good middle-of-the-road pickup that is fairly "compatible" with their core market. For example, you can certainly play most styles of rock and metal with a JB, and get a decent clean tone from a Jazz, but I don't consider them to be specialized compared to other makes and models. I don't care for EMGs either, so I find it strange that someone would take a guitar made out of a great tonewood like mahogany and then put active pickups in it.