Distortion: is it the JE-1200?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distortion: is it the JE-1200?

Hi everybody: this is my first post and the first thing should be thanking you all for the huge and inspiring amount of info I found on this forum!!

I have a problem with my Charvel 475 Deluxe that I bought almost 15 years ago. I started having problems some time ago and I can't get my head around it: one day I could not get my usual clean tone. The sound was slightly overdriven when the midboost was turned down, quite distorted if it was fully open. It seems to be worse with the humbucker than with the single coils. (If needed I could post an mp3 for you to listen)
    I thought it was the battery dying and I replaced it, to no avail.
    I have recently taken it to a local guitar shop and at first the guy there told me it was normal and it was just the "incredible gain" my guitar had (well...). I challenged him saying that I have been playing it for many years and I know how it should sound. He then seemed convinced that the only thing to do was to replace the JE1200 and I now know that there aren't many around in the UK...

I tried to have a look at it myself and see if there was any loose connection or soldering but everything seems to be fine.
    Is there anything you could suggest me to do before goin to PLAN B??

(PLAN B): get rid of the midboost circuit and pot, and replace it with an ARTEC EXP http://artecsound.com/exp.html. I would probably leave the stock pickups there.
    In this case I would need some help with the wiring diagrams...

Well, just to narrow it down you could unhook the boost and see if the problem goes away. Assuming it is the boost, it sounds like it's not turning off completely.
    Scott

Comment