Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hoping someone could explain this to me...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hoping someone could explain this to me...

I've been playing the guitar for several years, but I am quite ignorant when it comes to technical stuff. I recently bought a used Jackson PS4, simply because I wanted it. With that being said, what does "raising" and "lowering" the action mean, and what does either one result in? How is it done? I prefer using GHS .009 Boomers and am into somewhat of a George Lynch style of play, and love throwing in finger taps and harmonics. The strings on this guitar are pretty close to the fretboard down towards the head but are what I feel too high towards the body. Would raising or lowering the action have any effect on this?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

RR

Raising or lowering the 'action' is basically how high or low the strings are from the fret board. You can lower/raise the bridge to adjust your issue as well as possibly adjusting your truss rod.

joe...
    www.godwentpunk.com
    www.myspace.com/godwentpunk

Comment

...but, DO NOT fuck with your truss rod unless you know what you're doing. Site down the neck, there should be a VERY slight forward bow to the neck. If the bow is pronounced, then tighten the trussrod a quarter turn at a time until it looks right. If there is a backbow, loosen the trussrod a quarter turn at a time until it looks right. If the neck is just right, adjust the bridge studs to lower your action.
      Sleep!!, That's where I'm a viking!!

http://www.myspace.com/grindhouseadtheband

Comment

Have to disagree with Zeeg a bit. Don't be scared of the truss rod. I found that's one of the biggest hurdles to get over mentally before you can set up your guitar. You won't hurt your guitar when you mess with the rod UNLESS you force it. If it won't move, don't force it. But if it moves with a little pressure, you'll do no damage.