How do you record?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you record?

I want to start recording, like you guys here. How do you go about getting your guitar recorded onto the computer, and then posting it up on the forum here? I'm totally new to this, so explain in detail for a noob.

Re: How do you record?

i can tell you what i have done...i use cakewalk guitar trax pro, or you could use any other of the many virtual studios. i actually mic my amp and run the mike to my cpu, (1/8 inch mike input, you probably have one too).i should use guitar port or something instead of miking my amp, but for now thats it. then i upload to my account at onlinerock.com (like pretty much everyone else) and link up. accounts (pages) are free at this site, just register. others here can tell you different ways. good luck, i'm sure we'll be listening to you soon!

Comment

Mark

Thats good info..

What amp and geer are you using?

Have you tried or heard a pod?

Kevin
      It's not a competition, it's a community

Comment

hi kevin
        i actually havn't tried a pod yet. a friend uses one to record direct to his dig. 8 track and he raves about it (i haven't heard the results yet). i have played through a line 6 amp, i guess it must sound similar to the various amp models on their combos? i want to start recording direct, miking my amp gives me a pretty raspy/buzzy sound. sh*tty amp doesn't help (15 watt crate [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] ) for guitars i have a fender strat plus (97), a jackson SL1, a prs ce24, and a charvel strat i bought new in 1984 (san dimas plate). the jackson is the most fun to play but i suppose the prs is really the best of the bunch.

Comment