My neck hurts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My neck hurts

This started out as mild separation at the top of the neck of my black Model 1. I tried glueing it but I was not satisfied with the result. Now, look what I did. I have to buy more clamps. The truss rod is going to be interesting to deal with. It's all rusty. The upside is you get to see the internals. The downside is this sucks.
    Last edited by fett; 01-19-2008, 06:55 PM.
    I am a true ass set to this board.

Buy a new truss rod ,off StewMac.
    I wish my hair-color was EDS :/

Comment

What? Are you nuts?:ROTF: I'll make that sucker as good as new. It did bow way up when I popped the board. I guess I'll slack it way off when I attach the board. I have never done this before. HELP!!!!!
      Last edited by fett; 01-19-2008, 07:15 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by fett View Post
        What? Are you nuts?:ROTF: I'll make that sucker as good as new.

Yeah, right.
        I wish my hair-color was EDS :/

Comment

I have nothing to lose. What fun is a 20 year old guitar if you can't FIX it?

Comment

Let me get this straight....
            So to speak.
            Was there tension on the truss when you removed the fingerboard?
            Take the truss rod out, use oil and sandpaper to clean it, make sure it is
            loose when you reinstall it. Clean it throroughly (I use 92% Isopropyl alchohol
            and naptha), then put it back in.
            Clamping: I lightly support it in a bench vise, then clamp it with a board
            over the finger board, and use as many clamps as I can fit. I can see how it's being clamped by the glue that's being squeezed out. (I use Titebond). Leave it alone for as long as you like. Two days minimum, for me. Put it together, string it up, and do the truss adjustments after a week.

Comment