No announcement yet.

Replacing the floyd rose on my charvel?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing the floyd rose on my charvel?

I wanne replace the floating double locking tremolo on my charvel and i was wondering what would be a direct replacement and where would i buy it? I think its a JT-6????

I hear a floyd or schaller will go right on.
    I'm not an expert.
    The big hang-up with direct floyd swaps tends to be the size of the routing.
    There may be a little creative dremel work required on yours... I'm not sure.
    Bigger problems exist for guitars that are routed on the deck to allow for "pull-up"
    My 475DX for instance, almost demands a schaller due to the fact that ofr's have longer locking screws hanging out there that won't fit the pocket if I pull up.
    Hope this helps.
    I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm in error.
    hehe
    "Wow,... that was some of the hardest rockin ever. Hardest to listen too."
    --floydkramer

Comment

I had a jackson that had one of those trems and my tech swapped in an OFR , he said no problem, I would go that route if you really like the guitar.
      Last edited by kmanick; 01-05-2008, 05:49 PM.
      If this is our perdition, will you walk with me?

Comment

The OFR or Schaller will fit without problems. One thing that might need to be done, about 2mm of the high e side of the rout might need to be filed down. I had an OFR on my Model 6 for a while, and was having some trouble returning to 0. I tore it down for its quarterly maintainance, and noticed that the trem arm socket was rubbing. 2 minutes with a small file and it was fixed.

One thing though, If you had a choice, Id go with the Schaller. The knife edges are thinner and will seat better in the JT6 posts. The OFR is thicker and will bind a bit.
        Imagine, being able to be magically whisked away to... Delaware. Hi... Im in... Delaware...

Comment