Routing / Mounting Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Routing / Mounting Question

I would like to assemble a guitar from scratch, but have a few questions, both in reference to the following pickup:

http://www.seymourduncan.com/product...ntage_rails_s/

Also, the guitar will be Strat-style, but rear routed, so no pickguard.

1) As you can see, it doesn't have the extra "tab" on the long edge of the pickup; so when ordering a body from Warmoth, what kind of a route do I get? An EMG-style route, or a wide-single coil route?

2) How do these pickups mount into the wood? Assuming they are designed to mount from the bottom-up into a pickguard? Jist screw down through the mount holes into the wood?

I'm a bit of a neophyte at this, and its issues like this that remind me why I've never done it before.

Thanks,

- Eric
    Good Lord! The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up its butt!

Originally posted by AlexL View Post
    I would like to assemble a guitar from scratch, but have a few questions, both in reference to the following pickup:

http://www.seymourduncan.com/product...ntage_rails_s/

Also, the guitar will be Strat-style, but rear routed, so no pickguard.

1) As you can see, it doesn't have the extra "tab" on the long edge of the pickup; so when ordering a body from Warmoth, what kind of a route do I get? An EMG-style route, or a wide-single coil route?

2) How do these pickups mount into the wood? Assuming they are designed to mount from the bottom-up into a pickguard? Jist screw down through the mount holes into the wood?

I'm a bit of a neophyte at this, and its issues like this that remind me why I've never done it before.

Thanks,

- Eric