Oil for J/C Oil finish neck.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil for J/C Oil finish neck.

Bottom line: I'm new to oil finish necks. I'm looking for recommendations for cleaning and maintaining the oil finshed neck on a Swee Tone.

I've done searching on the forum, so I've got a few workable solutions. In my research I discovered that the factory oil finish is thin, while other makers might use several coats.

Is there a clear winner for J/C factory oil finished necks? Tung, Tru, Gun maybe Bore Oil?

I'd like to keep this amazing mahagony straight and true. Any advice is greatly appreciated as far as products and how often they should be used.

Jackson uses gun stock oil.I build a lot of guitars with raw necks and I use 3 thin coats of Birchwood-casey gun stock oil.Heres the method I use wipe the neck down to get any loose dust off.Apply a thin coat with a paper towel rub it in by hand let it dry until its not tacky.Take 0000 steel wool and buff it down smooth repeat 2 more times and you will have plenty of protection for years.
    Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

Mike Kotzen, Custom Shop Coordinator with Jackson/Charvel, told me last year they use the Birchwood Casey Gunstock Tru-Oil, wipe on and wipe it right off. Then wait for a short period between coats for a total of 3. Using the 0000 steel wool between coats as Straycat suggested is a good idea too.
      Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Comment

yeah, i perfer boiled linseed oil. i rub 0000 steel wool up and down the neck to smooth out any raised grain and get any grit off it. then wipe the steel fibers off. apply oil and let sit for 10 minutes then wipe off anything that hasn't soaked in immediately. after i put the strings back on i buff the back of the neck with a polish cloth. i do this about 2 times a year if i play this guitar regularly.
        Widow - "We have songs"

http://jameslugo.com/johnewooteniv.shtml