To all you shredders...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To all you shredders...

You know...I was working on some licks out of that book, Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar...in the building speed section, where he plays a 16th note lick at 80bpm, and then 120bpm, and then 160bpm. I've been playing for 3 years, I'm 17, and basically I could sometimes, and sometimes not, keep up with him on the 120bpm licks; it really depended on how tricky the lick was. So, you know, on the CD he goes slow, goes faster, like a cruise, and then just rips it up. It started me thinking about how much I actually suck in reality [img]graemlins/baby.gif[/img] , and that even if I can play a lot of fun riffs and jam and have a kick ass time, I really have a looong way to go.

I know a lot of you guys here have a lot of talent and musicianship, and I wanted to congratulate you.

Cheers,
    Nick

Re: To all you shredders...

Wow, you guys moderate like hawks...hahaha, I posted this in the General forum...and like 5 minutes later I see it here in Technique...*feels watched* hahaha! [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Cheers,
    Nick

Comment

Hey Misanthrope:

Getting technically proficient on guitar is a never-ending pursuit....it takes time to build up BOTH hands and synchronize them together.

I love SM.....use it religiously.........just keep on working with it, gradually increase your speed.....and before you know it you'll be cruising.

Don't get discouraged if "Joe Blow" is better than me, that's not where it is at. Play because you love the instrument and play for fun.

That is my $0.02 for ya.

Have fun and keep working.

Comment

Just keep practicing. You really are better than you think, you are your harshest judge, which is a good thing.
        Cheers

Comment

Keep up the studies. The speed you are looking for will come in time. Also, it will mainly come from your picking hand.

Comment