feedback when adjusting master volume control

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• feedback when adjusting master volume control

I have just purchased a 80's charvel/jackson guitar model 4 and the owner said there
    is some noticeable feedback when adjusting the master volume control.
    Does anyone know what the problem is here? Is this a spendy fix? Thanks
    Nick

Hi. And Welcome Have you received the guitar yet? It just may be a dirty pot. He may just be indicating that the pot makes "Noise". Feedback is when your guitar is too close to the amp. Put a mic next to an amp. And close your ears.:ROTF:
    Last edited by fett; 10-28-2007, 04:08 PM.
    I am a true ass set to this board.

Comment

Dirty pot?

Hi I am wondering of the term you used dirty pot? What is that? And sorry
      if this is a stupid question I am new to guitar lingual! NIck

Comment

On a Model 4, the volume pot (short for potentiometer, the electronic control underlying your volume knob) is attached to the circuit board for the JE-1200 active midboost system. Sometimes they can be cleaned, but a loud high-pitched whine when turned up all the way is a pretty common sign that the pot is close to done.

Comment

Worst case scenario will be that you will have to replace the pot. Definitel not a spendy fix . A new pot will cost you less than 5$ and you will need some basic soldering skills to replace it. The correct pot value for the JE1200 preamp is 50kOhm, which can be a little harder to find though.

Welcome to the forum btw! And be sure to post some pics of the guitar when you get it .

Comment

I forgot about the board. If that is shot, thats not good.
            I am a true ass set to this board.

Comment

Did you try replacing the battery?
              I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment