Floyd Rose + Sperzel Tuners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Floyd Rose + Sperzel Tuners

I noticed the "King Rhoads" models have Floyd Rose bridge + Sperzel tuners... and that got me wondering.

Isn't that overkill? Or would that really be a nice feature on a guitar?

I'm considering on putting Sperzels on my RR1 with Floyd Rose... just to try out Sperzel Locking Tuners and see how they work.

would this be a wise choice?

pros - cons?

Sperzel's are great regardless if you have a locking nut. I like the smooth action and ease of stringing. I've been using Sperzels on many guitars for 18 years. I love those tuners. Recently, they have available polished finishes to join up with the old existing satin finished keys.

I'd say go for it. You will be glad you did!
    Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Comment

Locking tuners make for quicker string changes. Also, Carvin's guitars with Floyds use Sperzels and no Floyd locking nut, and people say they stay in tune extremely well. They do offer a locking nut as an option for another $20, but most people on their forum don't find it necessary.
      I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

i had sperzels put on a gretsch with a bigsby. They kept that guitar pretty much intune, which is amazing. you could also leave the locks off the floyd nut, & it would probably still stay intune.

Comment

I'd totally agree that Sperzels or other locking tuners make string change a lot faster!

Comment

... dunno, i trust the locking nut more than the tuners, mainly because there's always some slack string accumulated in the tuners that will transfer to the fretboard side of the nut. Unless you take your time and stretch it out several times, which in the end is more time consuming than just a normal locking nut with regular tuners.
            "It wasn't the world being round that agitated people, but that the world wasn't flat. [ ... ]