Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Gotoh Trem Installation Experience (long post)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gotoh Trem Installation Experience (long post)

Hello fellow forum members...I've been a long time lurker on this forum and have finally decided to post so let me begin by briefly introducing myself. My name is Erik and I'm an electronics tech at a music store in South Texas called Melhart Music Center. I've worked on several Jacksons, a few Charvels, and have owned a transparent black SLSMG, so I have plenty of experience on the subject of Jackson guitars. I'm also the only person around here, it seems, that still has a Jackson truss rod wrench.

About a month ago, my friend decided to do a bridge swap on his transparent green warrior. When he asked me what bridge I recommend I had no clue. I had once done a trem swap with an original Floyd but was put off by the excessive brightness the ofr introduced to my S-470. I looked on e-bay for the cheapest good quality bridge i could find and came across a black Gotoh tremolo for 129. He went ahead and ordered it and had me install it.

I thought it would be a simple swap but it turned to be quite the learning experience. First, the studs that were supplied were much beefier than the puny studs in the warrior. I didn't want to compromise the stability of the bridge so i decided to pull out the old studs and inserts. The inserts didn't budge when i pulled on the studs so I softened up the surrounding glue with a heat gun and pried them out. Next I had to install the new inserts, so I reamed out the holes a bit and hammered the new inserts in. The inserts stuck out a little but I didn't think it was a big deal...more on this later.