Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What does the "P" stand for? (Ernie Ball Beefy Slinky strings)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does the "P" stand for? (Ernie Ball Beefy Slinky strings)

The yellow pack of strings called Beefy Slinky... take a look:

http://ernieball.com/products_strings_nickel.php

The string gauge is 11-15-22p-30-42-54. What does that "P" stand for? [img]graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img]

Some of the other sets have a "W", which I'm guessing means "wound", but the D string is ALWAYS wound. [img]graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img] D'Addario has some sets where the G string is wound and others where the G string is unwound. So, what does this "W" stand for? I'm new to Ernie Ball... I need the Beefy Slinky set since D'Addario doesn't offer a set like that in their own product line.

By the way, I'd be tuning to C on a 25.5" scale guitar, so would you recommend the Beefy Slinky (11-54) or the Not Even Slinky (12-56) set? I like light tops with heavy bottoms (ease of soloing with still a good full sound on the bottom strings for rhythm), like 9-46 hybrids tuned to E on 25.5" scale and 10-52 hybrids tuned to D on 25.5" scale. Thanks!

[ June 12, 2004, 10:56 PM: Message edited by: Number Of The Priest ]

Re: What does the "P" stand for? (Ernie Ball Beefy Slinky strings)

P=Plain meaning not wound

Comment

P = plain. W = wound.
      I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

Oh. [img]graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img] Rather redundant system of labelling things on their website... for example, the Extra Slinky set is 8-11-14-22w-30-38, indicating that the D string is wound, and then the Power Slinky is 11-14-18p-28-38-48, indicating that the G string is plain... WTF? Same thing! D string wound, G string plain! [img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img]

And then there's Regular Slinky which is 10-13-17-26-36-46, which we are to assume is another STANDARD set of D string wound and G string plain.