Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Active pickups vs. gain booster... ?

... so what do you guys think about it?

i figure i'd have the subtlety and tone of whatever dimarzio or seymour duncan passive pickup that i like, with the added benefit of a onboard or offboard gain stage before the preamp.

any advice?
    "It wasn't the world being round that agitated people, but that the world wasn't flat. [ ... ]
    The truth will seem utterly preposterous, and its speaker, a raving lunatic."

Re: Active pickups vs. gain booster... ?

Well Im no expert on this matter...

But I think I would prefer the on board gain booster.. Tho I wouldnt care for the mini toggle.

EMG's have their pre amnp internal whereas say, Bartolini has theirs externaly with a PCB...

EMG, sells gain booster expander kits to drive the preamps in the pups as well...

If you want that extra boost and dont mind a mini toggle, Id say go for it.

Comment

i'd go for this one --->
      http://guitarelectronics.zoovy.com/product/PASFX

variable gain boost and i can use a push/pull pot for the gain control instead of adding a toggle switch.

of course if anyone has schematics for building such a gain booster, i'd be really happy to take a look at them... !
      "It wasn't the world being round that agitated people, but that the world wasn't flat. [ ... ]

Comment

I picked up the EMG boost for myself . It has a toogle switch to turn on/off, plus, I can dial it the amount of boost that I want. I think it was about $30 for the part, plus they'll need to add a $10 balanced 1/4 plug.

joe...
        www.godwentpunk.com
        www.myspace.com/godwentpunk

Comment

HEY... I just went GOLD!!!

goldie joe...
          www.godwentpunk.com

Comment

thanks for the advice. Is there any way to use a push-pull pot instead of the switch? and i guess you attach 2 of the wires to the pot for gain control... ?

Comment