Need help deciding which pickups to use in my LP Custom

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help deciding which pickups to use in my LP Custom

I currently have the 81/85 combo in my Les Paul Custom. I like EMG's but they are not working for me in this guitar. The guitar is heavy probably around 10 pounds. Any suggestions? I was thinking bout the Rio Grande BBQ Bucker for the brige? Anyone have good luck with a certain pickup combo for a LP Custom? I want this thing to really rock and cut through the mix.

Re: Need help deciding which pickups to use in my LP Custom

WHat type of tone are you looking for? DO you want high output distortion type pups, or lower output vintage type? Are you in standard tuning, or something different? THere will be plenty of people to chime in on this, but to get knowledgable answers, we will need some more info. I have no experience changing pups in an LP (but I will soon). In my Model 4 I have a Screamin' DEmon and it sounds fantastic for a straight rock/metal tone. My HM strat has a Dimarzio Super 3-high output and "in your face" distortion. How well they would work in a Paul, who's to say? Mahogany guitars tend to have a warmer, bassier tone, so you may want to try a pup that accentuates the higher frequencies to "cut through". As for the "rockin'" tone, I believe that come standard in LP's. [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]

Comment

Someone posted a glowing review of the BBQ in a Les Paul in this section.
      You might also like a set of Gibsons's stock pickups - 496R and 498T.

Newc
      I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment