Installing an EMG

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing an EMG

Well, I just had the mailman bring me my EMG 85 for my Kevin Bond Rhoads. I want to install it but some problems arose. I'm not an electrician or anything but I can solder. I'm just a n00b when it comes to diagrams.

I just want to use the volumepot. I can leave the tonepot in the control cavity or remove it from the volumepot. What should I do?

Second, my output jack belongs in the upper wing and the wire of the EMG jack is waaaay to short. Should I use the original wires?

Last but not least, I need another black wire coming from the jack but I guess I have to buy that. What is that sort of wire called so that I can buy it?

Originally posted by Izegrim View Post
    I just want to use the volumepot. I can leave the tonepot in the control cavity or remove it from the volumepot. What should I do?
    Just eliminate the tone pot and capacitor from the circuit. Either snip the capacitor off of the volume pot, or solder it loose.

Second, my output jack belongs in the upper wing and the wire of the EMG jack is waaaay to short. Should I use the original wires?

Last but not least, I need another black wire coming from the jack but I guess I have to buy that. What is that sort of wire called so that I can buy it?
    You need to replace the jack with the stereo jack supplied with the EMG, or the pickup will drain the battery even when the guitar is unplugged. You can use the original wires, but you will probably have to add an extra wire to make it work.

Pretty much any kind of wire will work, provided it is not too thin, or too thick. I would recommend a multi-stranded copper wire. You can buy some in stores for fine electronics, or maybe even from a guitar tech.

Comment

Thanks Sunbane! I can get back to work when I get home this afternoon. If I remove the capacitor, does that alter the wiring diagram (I don't have the diagram with me now)?

Comment