Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For those of you that are Pro or Semi-Pro Guitar Techs or Luthiers

Hi All,

For those of you that are Pro or Semi-Pro guitar techs and / or luthiers, what advice would you give to someone thinking of going into this field?

I am a lawyer by training, but like many others before me, only discovered that this field isn't for me after significant investment of resources. In turning away from this field, my main options are 1) do some other paper-pushing jobs that are mind-numbing but stable. OR 2 ) take this opportunity to pursue my dreams.

One of my dreams is to be a professional luthier that operates a true guitar custom shop.

Of the numerous luthiery schools on the net, I found this one relatively close to home http://www.luthiers-international.com/index.htm They offer a one year course with a guaranteed one month internship at a guitar shop in Norway. The rest of the course is held in B.C., Canada. That's their longest course, but they also have many courses of shorter duration, from 2 weeks to 6 months.

MY QUESTIONS:

1. Has anyone heard of them by reputation or has had personal experiences with them?

2. Anyone know of other luthiery schools on the B.C. mainland that offers both electric and acoustic guitar content?

3. If you guys don't mind me asking, what is the reasonable range of income that a professional luthier doing quality work could expect? Either doing custom work exclusively, or doing some custom work along with guitar tech jobs.

4. With such a wide selection of quality USA isntruments and affordable (yet still good quality) import guitars, not to mention the established true custom / semi custom shops out there.... what are the prospects of another custom builder entering this industry?

This will of course not be my only source of information, but I know that we have some pro techs and luthiers on this Board, and I do value your opinions. Thanks

- Leo.