No announcement yet.

Uh Oh - Fretboard Cracks (Please Help)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Uh Oh - Fretboard Cracks (Please Help)

Alright, first off I'm a total freakin' doofus. I'm smacking my own forehead right now. I bought a new KE2T (2 yr NOS) a couple of weeks ago. And, while I thought I did a thorough inspection when it came in, I obviously missed this.

I haven't had a lot of time to play it since. So, today, thinking the fretboard looked a little parched, I decided to give it the old lemon oil lube and re-string. And that's when I first noticed...

Yep. The fretboard has cracks in the circled areas. To my untrained eye, they appear to have been caused by overly dry fretboard wood. But I'm no expert, and have never experienced this problem. Right now, this is only a cosmetic issue. The cracks do not affect playability or feel at all. If fact, the closeup pic makes them appear worse than they really are.

So I'm hoping to get some advice from those of you that are more tech experienced and/or have had this problem. My questions are:

- How serious is this problem?
    - What do you think the chances are that the cracks will get worse and spread over time?
    - Is it repairable? How, and is that worth it?
    - WTF should I do? [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Regarding the latter, my options are:

- Keep the guitar, not worry about it and hope for the best.
    - Send the guitar back to the dealer now for a refund. (An internet buy, and this condition was not disclosed. Admittedly, it wasn't easy to notice, though, so I'm confident the dealer wasn't trying to pull a fast one.)
    - Keep the guitar, and invoke the Jackson warranty to have it repaired.