Mixers??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mixers??

Well now that I've covered mics in another thread, time for mixers! I'm new to this PA thing as well! Any suggestions? Note that this will be for live applications. I don't think we'll need anymore than a 16 channel. I'm looking at Mackie's VLZ pro series. How does compression come into play in the mixer business??
    I love admins!

live i use compressors between the mixer and the amp to keep dynamics level. the mackie is a good mixer. we use an alesis studio 32 as our PA mixer and that has been REALLY flexible, allowing us to run several monitor mixes for floor wedges and in ears, plus we can do 16 track live multi-track recording of the board. it has been great.
    GEAR:

some guitars...WITH STRINGS!!!! most of them have those sticks like on guitar hero....AWESOME!!!!

some amps...they have some glowing bottle like things in them...i think my amps do that modelling thing....COOL, huh?!?!?!

and finally....

i have those little plastic "chips" used to hit the strings...WHOA!!!!

Comment

floor wedges? in ears? shit I'm got a lot to learn still! note that I'm planning on using the active mackie speakers, so I wont be using amps!!
      I love admins!

Comment

the the mackie mixer should run great. if it has a pair insert jacks, you could put the compressor there. or between the mixer and the speakers. just get a 2 channel compressor.
        GEAR:

some guitars...WITH STRINGS!!!! most of them have those sticks like on guitar hero....AWESOME!!!!

some amps...they have some glowing bottle like things in them...i think my amps do that modelling thing....COOL, huh?!?!?!

and finally....

Comment

you want compressors on all the vocal mics.
          I want REAL change. I want dead bodies littering the capitol.

- Newc

Comment

Originally posted by hippietim View Post
            you want compressors on all the vocal mics.