Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Routing out room for new pickup?

Hey hey hey!
    If things go as planned I'll be buying this here beauty by the end of the week:

I'm of course talking about the guitar, not the Liverpool logo in the back
    I have a question though: If I think one pickup isn't enough, is it possible to have room made for a new pickup? I was thinking of a single coil in particular. Is it doable? Will it cost a lot of money, is it worth it?
    I will not be doing it by myself, as I have no experience with these things myself. I think this is a fairly normal thing to do? Correct me if I'm wrong though!
    "This ain't no Arsenio Hall show, destroy something!"

Leave it alone, put a EMG 89 that is 2 pickup in one a S/H . If you want a 2 pickup guitar buy one don't destroy this one with a mod.

Comment

Fair enough Don't get me wrong, this one is gorgeous as it is! I guess I'm asking more in general, not just for this guitar. Really don't wanna f*** it up

Comment

Technically, it's very doable. Routing out for a single coil in the neck + drilling a wire route, won't hurt the construction.
        Finding a person who can do it properly might be harder. Good luthiers / cabinetmakers in Norway? You tell me.

For a pro, this would cost you 1 hour of labour, maybe 2.

If it's worth it? Guitardude, that's a silly question - it's up to you
        Henrik
        AUDIOZONE.DK - a guitar site for the Jackson and Charvel fan

Comment

Thats a very resectable mod 2 I wouldnt mod it at all these are getting very hard to find.Its an 86 BTW.
          Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

Noooo! Don't route that thing out! Single hum guitars rock, chicks dig them!
            Last edited by levantin; 11-15-2006, 03:29 AM.
            I feel festive all year round. Deal with it.

Comment