Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• adjusting spring tention

hey people..
    couple days ago i changed the high e string to elixir.. same thickness (0.09) as before but this is my first time using elixir and i've noticed that the bridge leans forward.. which means i gotta strengthen the spring tention (i got liscenced FR) .

I havent really messed with my guitar yet, i had it for allmost a year and this was the first time i opened the back where the springs are.
    i opened the back, i see 3 springs, 2 screws that go inside the body and a wire that is connected to the center piece (whats that for anyway?)

so.. i assume the 2 screws change the spring tention, ( i also asuume that turning it clock wise increases tention) i turned each screw clockwise for about 1/4 turn and nothing seemed to change, maybe i need to turn more but now im just being careful.

first question: whats the order of operations on this this? turn the screws untill the bridge is parallel to body or release the nut first so the strings dont rip (even tho they shouldnt anyway) ..

second question: i only got one elixir string on.. maybe i should put all of them on first since i planned on changing all strings anyway.. and then deal with the bridge?

that leads me to my third question.. my fretboard wasnt cleaned since i bought my guitar and now its dusty and there's gunk between the frets
    whats a fast way to clean it? i was thinking just wipe it down and it should be fine since its not THAT dirty.. but in order to do that, i gotta take all strings off at the same time and i dont wanna do that

sorry for asking so many questions =D
    If the crowd is shouting for an encore, but the sound guy is shaking his head, ignore him and play anyway