OFR is a superior trem????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OFR is a superior trem????

I'll admit, I haven't owned a bunch of axes with OFRs, but one thing I remembered years ago was that I always had problems with string breakage, and it seemed everyone else did too. Since everyone seems to love them now, I figured this was some kind of design flaw that they got worked out. Well, now I have a 2005 model, and it's doing the same thing. I have been playing it for about 4 months, and I've broken 3 D strings, and 2 A strings. They are snapping off right where they exit the lock block on the saddle. After a close inspection, I can see that the angle of the ramp exiting the lock block hole is very sharp, and puts a tight bend on the string when it's tuned to pitch. I'm thinking maybe I can get in there and file the ramp a little to reduce the "sharpness" of the angle.....but then I'm thinking....why the hell should I have to do that to a trem that's supposed to be the best money can buy? I have axes with JT6s, Schallers, JT580s, JT580LPs, Edge Lo Pros, and even one el-cheapo JT500, and NONE of these have any problem with string breakage. Matter of fact I can wear a set of strings completely out until they sound like dead rubber bands on all of the other guitars, and NEVER break one. I might also add that the OFR doesn't stay in tune a bit better than any of the above mentioned trems.

So....I guess my thoughts are, why all the hype about the OFR? Did I just happen to get all bad ones? Am I the only person that has this problem with them? Right now I'm ready to pull the piece of shit off there and put a Schaller on. Unless someone can convince me that I'm doing something wrong, this will probably be my last OFR.
    My goal in life is to be the kind of asshole my wife thinks I am.

Sounds like you either got a bad one or there's something screwey with your block in the saddle.