"The " sound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "The " sound

You know how tight, crisp and HUGE the guitars on the black album sound? What gives one such perfect overdrive/distortion? I am in eternal cosmic love with the sounds of the Black Album, more so than the tunes, classic as they may be. I have been playing for 9 years, so I am well aware that 50% of it is in the pickers hands, but what makes makes it "sound" so good beyond a high gain boogie type amp, essentially some 6L6's and probably 5 12ax7's, is it the studio, no cuz they have that clarity live as well, is it a fuking sonic maximizer? Is it a certain freq? a well placed mic? EMG 81's!? [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Just thinking out loud.

Re: "The " sound

mastering, and a $1,000,000 studio will getcha started.

Comment

You are talking about the "black" Spinal Tap album, right? [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
      I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

Big bottoms, big bottoms, talk about mudflaps, my girls got 'em.... [img]graemlins/band.gif[/img] [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]
        Hail yesterday

Comment

hehe [img]graemlins/band.gif[/img]
          I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

Good God Man, Thats it! Turn it up to 11!!!! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Comment

SMELL THE GLOVE!!!

Working on a Sex Farm, Trying to raise some Hard Love [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]

Comment

DON'T Even look at that one!

Yea but this one goes to 11!

Comment

Well, all the things mentioned, plus the Soldano X88Rs, the vintage Marshalls, the Bogner Fish preamps, the ADA MP-1s, MQ-1s, Mesa/Boogie Strategy 400 power amps, Mark II C+s, Mark IVs, Aphex parametric eqs, and so on, the wall of various speaker cabinets, and a huge selection of guitars and other amps. Not to mention, being James Hetfield doesn't hurt.

Comment