New PC1 - Possible Sustainer Issues?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New PC1 - Possible Sustainer Issues?

I just picked up a new PC1 in RedRum. I noticed that once I started playing it, all strings, no matter where I was on the fretboard, responded with an oscilating sound rather than a smooth note. Is it possible that there is something wrong with the sustainer system? Has anyone else out here ever encouontered this type of problem with a PC1?

Thanks

Not sure I understand what you mean. If it sounds like the note you are playing is feeding back, that is normal. That's what the sustainer is supposed to do - either the fundimental note or the harmonic, depending on the switch.

If it's something different, try lowering the height of the sustainer PU a bit and see if that helps. Might be too close to the strings.

Comment

No, and welcome to the board Where's the pics? They will continually vibrate unless you mute the strings. The sustainer is a magnetic driver. You can control the amount of driving sustain by using the sustainer driver control. That will reduce or increase the amount of string vibration. Try turning the knob counter clockwise to back off the vibration.
      Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Comment