Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

newb questions about pickups, sustaniac, etc.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newb questions about pickups, sustaniac, etc.

Hello

I'm a newbie, both to this forum, and Jackson guitars. Heck, I've only been playing electric guitar for a few months. That being said, I have a strong background in synths and studio technology, esp. computer-based production, and have been a woodwind player for over 20 years. I've gotten my hands dirty with the soldering iron making mods to my synths and samplers, so have a fair amount of experience with electronics as well.

I recently picked up a Jackson DXMG (excellent guitar for the money I have to say), and while I love it's current setup, I'd like to make some modifications to it that would make it more suitable for the kind of music I'm working on (experimental/drone metal). The things I'm considering are: upgrading to active pickups; installing a sustaniac; and possibly even installing a MIDI piezo pickup, although this last consideration might have to wait for the next axe. I should also mention that I'm not thinking that I'll make these modifications myself, but rather plan on taking them to a luthier (any recommendations for luthiers in the Boulder/Denver area would be most appreciated).

For starters, I think upgrading to active pickups will put me closer to the general sound I'm wanting, which is a high-gain metal sound. EMG's Kerry King setup, the 81 & 85 pickups with the PA2 gain booster look like they'll do the trick. Since these are humbuckers, replacing the EMG HZ pickups I currently have would likely not be too big a problem.