Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pinch harmonics on downtuned guitars?

Hey bros,

I've settled for using 010-046 on my regular tuned guitar, but now I'm about to join a band (to play for fun), and they're tuned to D - so I put a 011-048 set on my Model 6. I've noticed that the bass strings feel too flabby, so I'm considering a 011-052 set...

But anyway, onto the point:

On the downtuned guitar, I can't get my pinch harmonics to come through on the 5th and the 6th string!?! It's not like I'm a newbie to playing either, so I do know how to make them - and I've tried all over, using my picking hand from the bridge pickup to the 24th fret! I've recently checked the intonation, and it seems to be fine (it's a little off on the 1st and the 2nd string, but not enough to make it sound bad - and those strings squeal just fine!).

Has anyone of you had similar experiences when tuning down? I'm concerned since I'm planning on going to even thicker strings (because of the flabby feel), but I'm really put off by the lack of squeals I can get from the ones I now have on.

Btw, these are Ernie Ball strings, whereas I've used Boomers and D'Addarios in the past.

nope

even with 11-52 tuned to C

but now 12-56 @ C# - screaaaams

thicker strings = louder acoustic resonance and i think this could help

and I'm using Eb's not even slinkies.

Comment

I have 11-48 string tuned to D and I can get them fine.

Comment

i find it hard to get pinch harmonics on thicker strings in general. I can usually only get them on the D and G strings

Comment

I also use EB 11-48 on my Dinky tuned to D. No problem whatsoever getting pinch harmonics.
          I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

I tune drop tuned to C# (guitars basically in drop D but instead of standard tuning its in E flat) and I use 12's. Pinched harmonics come out fine...

Thicker strings is the way to go

James

Comment