Tuning idea...tell me what you think

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tuning idea...tell me what you think

OK...I've been playing bass in a church band for 6 months or so now. We do everything from "old school" traditional hymns, to modern contemporary stuff w/distortion. It is the first band I've ever been in where we use actual sheet music. There are times when last minute changes in the set list require me to sight read on the fly [img]/images/graemlins/what.gif[/img] ...which can be a nightmare if you learned primarily on TAB like I did.

I play a standard tuned 5 string: B-E-A-D-G. But, I prefer the feel of a 4 string. I find a rarely ever go below the 3rd fret B string low D when I play. I just don’t like the sound of an open B. I've also noticed that a lot of the music we are doing is keyed in D, G, C or F.

So, I'm thinking of picking up a cheap 4 string bass, slapping a new nut on it, stringing it with: 125, 95, 80 ,60, and tuning it D-G-C-F. This way it will still be strung in “5th’s”. Anybody ever tried anything like this? If so, how did it work out?
    >>--HuntinDoug-->

Re: Tuning idea...tell me what you think