Give me your opinion.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Give me your opinion.

I have a mahogony body/maple top gmw on the way. It has a Duncan 59 in it. I have no experience with this pickup, so if I dont dig it im thinking about a Duncan custom or a Duncan distortion. Which one do you think will sound better with that wood combo. I know its all a matter of taste, but i just want to see what you all have to say.

Re: Give me your opinion.

The '59 is like an old PAF pup, dramatically different with far less output than the others you mentioned. Personally of the two you listed I'd prefer the Distortion but if you want something a bit different try a Screamin' Demon. I've always thought that Demon's clarity was a nice match for the warmer tone of a mahogany body. I've used those in the bridge position in my mahogany body / maple neck nightswans for years and really like the combination.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam!

Comment

If you have afew pups in other guitars, switch em all around and see what you like best.. Thats my advice

Comment

I too think that the Screamin' Demon would be a good match, although the Custom or even a JB would also work. The Duncan Distortion would be OK, but I don't think it's nearly as transparent, and mahogany is a wood that has a good natural tone you'll want to hear.

If you're open to other brands, a DiMarzio PAF Pro might be worth considering. Sounds great in mahogany.
        sigpic

Comment