My first bass!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first bass!

So,since I left my band I bought myself a a six strings bass! [img]/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img]
    It's a Samick artist serie,anyone have experience with it? I bought it used online for 250€...I believe it's neck thru body too...

Re: My first bass!

Is it a "Fairlane"? I heard they were very good! [img]/images/graemlins/toast.gif[/img] 250 Euro! Is it new? That's a killer price! Congrats [img]/images/graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]
    Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Comment

I bought it used,I dunno if it's a fairlane!I'm a totally newbie about basses!

Comment

Have you played bass before?

Do you plan to use your fingers or a pick?

- E.
        Good Lord! The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up its butt!

Comment

I just used my former bassist instrument during rehersals breaks. I'd like to play it using fingers but I don't mind using picks!I have to practice when I'll get it!

Comment

Re: Pic!

Comment

There are certain advantages to starting on a 5 or 6 string bass early in one's bass playing career. If you are using a pick, it shouldn't be that difficult to use a 5 or 6 stringer.

If you plan to play using your fingers, there are some definite techniques to be aware of to keep open strings from ringing. This applies to a four string bass, but becomes even more important with 5s and 6s.

I started playing on a four string bass, and before I started taking lessons, I had a problem with open strings ringing (I play using my fingers). My instructor showed me how to avoid unwanted ringing, which was not difficult to learn.

When I told him I wanted to get a five string bass, he showed me the proper technique for string musting, and it is more involved than the technique for four string basses. I asked him about six string basses, and he discouraged me from going down this road.