PDA

View Full Version : Re-fretting with Bound Fingerboard



torquemada
12-01-2005, 04:10 PM
When you re-fret a guitar do you glue the part of the fret (crown) that`s outside the fingerboard to the binding?

sully
12-01-2005, 05:24 PM
no, sir; at least not in my experience of doing them, or seeing refrets on bound boards.

sully

torquemada
12-01-2005, 05:50 PM
Because on my guitar it seems that they did that, there`s even some glue on the binding barely noticeable but it`s there

sully
12-01-2005, 06:03 PM
i wouldn't think it'd be out of the scope of something that someone would do, so that there's no gap between the bottom of the fret and the top of the binding. does it bother you?

torquemada
12-01-2005, 06:59 PM
Well it doesn`t bother me when I play for sure but it doesn`t look good, especially because it`s my Jackson SL2H