Direct Coupling Pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Direct Coupling Pickups

I did a search on this but nothing! I can't believe it hasn't been brought up. For those that have pickups directly mounted to the body, ie EVH Charvel, Wolfgang etc., can you hear a difference verses a conventionally mounted pickup, (suspended)? I have a EVH Wolfgang as far as direct mounted and I can't hear any differences. I'm not an electrical or acoustics engineer, but I am a mechanical engineer. In theory I can't see where a magnetic device working with a vibrating string has anything to do with guitar (solid) body microphonics. You might can a miniscual amount of microphonics. But, I can't believe the human ear can discern it. Anybody agree with Ed Roman's claims it's the only way to go? Or EVH must have approach? Interesting to hear your thoughts!
    Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Re: Direct Coupling Pickups

I can hear a little difference, probably from the mechanical coupling. I also noticed that if the pickup is microphonic, they tend to be more microphonic due to the increased coupling with the body. Even though a pickup is primarily a device to convert string vibrations into energy, some pickups are microphonic by nature, take your guitar and talk or yell into the pickup on some guitars you can hear your voice come out the amp. It only makes sense that a direct mechanical coupling could have some effect on the tone.

Comment

Well, from what I've seen Ed Roman is full of dung 110% of the time. Once he has decided something is better than something else that does the same thing, it is 'superior'.

That thing aside, I agree with Lex. It would probably have an effect on tone, even if your pickups are totally non-microphonic - because they would affect how the body resonates a little (however miniscule that effect may be), which in turn influences how the strings ring out.