My jackson WR-1 with floyd tuning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My jackson WR-1 with floyd tuning

Hey guys, I got my WR-1 like a month or two back. I don't think I've had this problem all along. The problem is I tune the guitar using my Korg chromatic CA-30 tuner and it says the thing is in tune. I'll play it and it seems like the chords are ringing true up to like the 5th fret and from there on the guitar just does not sound in tune. I have a zion USA guitar with a schaller floyd rose and it stays in tune fine. Any ideas? I'm a trem newb (yes even though I own two USA's with floyds) and I think i'll probably just take it to a tech. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: My jackson WR-1 with floyd tuning

Your intonation is off. Did you just change String guages?
    A full setup with your strings of choice is the best bet.

I need to do this will all my guitars, I'm just lazy and cheap these days.

Comment

Intonation is WAY off. Here are some good articles to get you to save a few bucks and learn the way of the Floyd Rose... very educational!

http://www.fretnotguitarrepair.com/floydrosetremolo.htm

http://eastonguitars.com/WWW/TPS/index.htm

Check out the Floyd Rose setup videos in the second link I provided above... they'll walk you right through it!!

Comment

No unless the guy on ebay told me the wrong string guage. Also I don't remember having this problem when I first got the guitar so maybe I fucked something up without knowing it. I guess it couldn't hurt giving it a go on my own, I mean if I mess it up somehow then I could just get it professionally done. Thanks for the help guys.

Comment

Just remember one thing... don't overcrank anything when adjusting it on your guitar. If you have any doubts, ask questions first. Don't make it any worse for the guitar tech to work with if you unintentionally mess up your guitar beyond what it is now. [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Comment