Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wet sanding?

I never done no wetsanding, so this is a total newbie question:
    If I wanna smooth a rough/chewed up poly finish I just get a pan of water and some sandpaper that says "wet or dry" and get with it, right?
    Electric sanders and water is still a no-no, correct? [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
    I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Re: Wet sanding?

Start with a grit that's rough enough to mark up the finish. Start with a 600 and gradually go finer until you get to 1500 or 2000 (this might take a while, and use lots of water). Use a sanding block, don't use your fingers or you'll make grooves in the finish. Be careful not to get water on any wood that is not painted. If it's not sealed enough, the water will cause the wood to swell and crack the poly. Beyond that use buffing compound. Be careful not to go through the finish [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Be sure to remove the metal studs before you start sanding [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Comment

check out this site ,Ijust did an EVH strat using this book and it came out sweet www.paintyourowngiutar.com

Comment

txcharvel nailed it....
        shawnlutz.com

Comment

<font color="aqua">a little dishwashing soap in the water keeps everything "smooth" as well.... [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] ....think of it as a lubricant and no, I'm not kidding. </font>
          Dave ->

"would someone answer that damn phone?!?!"

Comment

[ QUOTE ]
            check out this site ,Ijust did an EVH strat using this book and it came out sweet www.paintyourowngiutar.com

[/ QUOTE ]

I bought this book as well. I've painted before, but there were still a few good tips in there.

Comment

http://www.paintyourownguitar.com/ &lt;--- fixed link ---