NECK/FRETBOARD REPAIR QUESTION

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NECK/FRETBOARD REPAIR QUESTION

<font color="yellow">Is it possible to have a fretboard replaced on a guitar neck??

Now, before I go any further, let me explain my case and opinions.

First and foremost, I'm a player, not a collector, I just like to have nice guitars to play.

The guitar/neck in question is Jackson San Dimas Strat #1255, neck/body/plate match W/O# and is a zebra body/OFR with maple/maple pointy.

Previous to me owning it, somebody had a pro refret/scallop job done on the guitar.

What is the feasability/economic possibility of having the fretboard portion of the neck replaced?

Would it be better to just find a replacement neck and leave the original as is??

Also, I have a wild-idea to somehow find a 22 fret maple/ebony replacement neck with a 2 1/4" heel with a Strathead and slap that together.

Please, thoughts on this. I'm new to the vintage SD game people.

Thanks.
    </font>

Re: NECK/FRETBOARD REPAIR QUESTION

Removing the original board would drop whatever resale it has simply because it was permanently removed instead of just permanently altered (though with a coupla gallons of wood putty...) [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

I'd look for a different neck. It's cheaper.
    I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment

[ QUOTE ]
      Removing the original board would drop whatever resale it has simply because it was permanently removed instead of just permanently altered (though with a coupla gallons of wood putty...) [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

I'd look for a different neck. It's cheaper.

[/ QUOTE ]

<font color="yellow">Eeeeek [img]/images/graemlins/eyes.gif[/img] [img]/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img]