need extra springs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need extra springs?

OK here's the deal: I only have one guitar (with a floyd) and i want to tune it to D. I already bought 11s to put on, but before I start I would like to know if I'll need more than 3 springs? I currently have 10s with 3 springs and the springs are almost at their max stretch.

I have no experience in this so I would like to be sure before I **** up and can't play for a few days because I have to wait until I find time to buy more sprimgs.

Re: need extra springs?

i use 11's and tune to d, it'll work fine if you use the spring alignment that alexi and roope from bodom use, two springs on the high side going straight, and one angled on the bass side from the farthest hold on the bottom of the trem towards the treble side.

Comment

11s should work fine w/3 springs if you have the middle sporing going straight, and the 2 outer ones in the outside holes of the trem and in the inside hooks of the claw. In fact, tuned to d it may even work fine with the standard "3 straight" setup.

If you have soft spprings, you may need a fourth. But if they´re that soft, then they shouldn´t really be on a Floyd anyway, but on a Vintage trem [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Comment

OK thanks! I just have the springs that came on standard on my ibanez. I'll first try the half-V shape and than the full V if there are any problems. Thanks afor the advice!

Comment

3 springs straight across with 10's tuned in D works fine here, and i find that i can even tune up to standard and just add a 4th spring and it keeps the bridge perfectly balanced [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

As for what pattern you put them in, it just varies in the "stiffness" of the trem.
          "It wasn't the world being round that agitated people, but that the world wasn't flat. [ ... ]
          The truth will seem utterly preposterous, and its speaker, a raving lunatic."

Comment