Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help With Sperzel Locking Tuners on KV2T

HELP!

Ok this is my first time re-stringing this baby, I got it from HippieTim in a trade some months agao (Thanks Tim You ROCK!) anyway, I went to restring it last night for the first time and ran into a snag. It seems the posts for the tuners on the G and the D are sunk too far into the headstock. I managed to get the D to string fine but cannot for the life of me get the G thru the hole in the post, its just too low and will go in one side but not come out the other. I tried switching the High E and The G tuners and that wont work either. I know that I am just missing something here,, I feel like a moron, so someone please if you have any idea what I need to do, let me know its driving me nuckin' futz!

Mike

Re: Help With Sperzel Locking Tuners on KV2T

I'm not sure I'm understanding the problem from your description. [img]/images/graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img]

If what you mean is that the locking pin mechanism isn't retracting down into the post and, hence, the strings can't fit through the post, that's a fairly common occurance with Sperzels. It's no big deal, though...

a) Make sure the thumbwheel is turned all of the way to the "unlock" side.

b) Try to push the locking pin down with a toothpick or something else thin enough. Note, however, try not to use anything so hard that you might mar the finish of the tuner or the headstock, if you slip.

c) If that doesn't work, unscrew the tuner from the headstock. Wrap it in a rag, again to protect the finish. Smack it down on a hard surface a few times, and see if the locking pin jars loose. Not too hard! Don't break the tuner. (Make sure you're swinging with the post side up. [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] )