Electric shock..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electric shock..

Yo guys a while ago i changed the volumepot of my jackson sl-3 everything went ok and stuff.. but today i started playing my axe again i touched the volume pot and guitar strings at the same time and i felt an electric shock.. What can i do about this problem?

Thanks in advance,

Shakeel

Re: Electric shock..

The first place to start is to check the ground on the volume pot. My guess is that the ground connection has either detached or possibly has had corrosion form that has caused resistance. When you are touching the pot and the strings at the same time, you are providing a path to ground (through the strings). Did you notice if there was an increase in background amp noise? That is another indication of ground problems.

Comment

He Overlord thank you for your fast reply [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
      The background noise of de amp only gets noisier when i'm touching the volume pot knob, i'm going to check if the ground wire is ok.

Comment

Run one from the pot to the spring claw, and then from the pot to the output jack.
        I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment

Leave it alone. Electric shocks are fun!!

Comment

if there are visible sparks, leave it alone and use it as a stage trick!

Comment

Alright guys i checked the wiring and everything was ok.. One from the spring claw is to the pot and one from the pot is to the output jack, however i'm still having the problem [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] Whem im touching the volume knob there's a lot of noise.. What to do know?

Here are some pics in case i overlooked something:

Comment