Recording questions/advice from the experts needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording questions/advice from the experts needed

<font color="yellow">Hey...I am new to recording and need some advice from those who do it often (Diablo, Pete(Twisteramps) and several others).

Here is what I currently have for equipment, what I want to get, and questions on how to get what I want.

Here is what I have:
    Sony digital Minidisk 4 track recorder
    Alesis Quadraverb 2
    BBE Sonic Maximiser
    Boss DR550 drum machine
    Aiwa minidisk recorder (to dump tracks from recorder to)
    Line-6 POD

Here is what I want:
    Mixer to route everything through to simplify connections
    studio reference monitors
    good recording michrophone for direct recording

I kinda want to have a simplified system to get everything into the recorder with minimal reconnection. This is primarily a permanent desk set up.

I also want to be able to have my CD player/digital slow motion machine running through the board and also have my guitar mixed to figure stuff out, play along with recordings etc.

What are some good ideas for mixers?? I have checked out Mackie and (don't kill me [img]/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img])Carvin boards...they are economical and have similar specs. What do you recommend and why?

Ideas on monitors? Should I get powered speakers or just get a power amp to do the work?? Suggesions??

Any thoughts, ideas, pointers for me??

I'm kinda new to this and need some advice, which I know some of you out here have.

Thanks for the responses in advance.

</font>

Re: Recording questions/advice from the experts needed

I can say this get a shure sm57 mic, that will cover all your needs there.
    I would go with powerd speakers for now.

I would get a cheap Berherger (spelling?) mixer. A 8 channel should be more then enough.

Also get a real good set of headphones.

Hope that helps.
    www.kiddhavok.com
    www.youtube.com/kiddhavokband

Comment