Neck adjustment for drop C?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Neck adjustment for drop C?

I'm trying to set up and intonate a guitar for a friend who tunes way down to C. (why? I don't know)It's a really nice Les Paul, but no matter what, the strings have some amount of fret buzz, just because the strings are so damn loose. (even though he uses .012s!) Should I put a lot of releif in the neck to counteract that? I'm new to seting up something tuned so low, so any help would be appreciated.

Re: Neck adjustment for drop C?

In my experience, nothing beats floppy strings other than going up in string gauge. Nothing you do to the neck or truss rod will increase the tension of the strings so that they aren't floppy any more. Either tune back up to increase tension (obviously not what your friend wants) or go with .013s or higher depending on his tastes. After you get the sucker in tune, adjust the intonation if needed and the truss rod if needed.

Also in my experience, I've played 12-53 gauge acoustic strings in C before, but I don't recall them being as loose as the impression I get from your post. Then again, my acoustic is a 25.5" scale and your friend's Les Paul is a 24.75" scale so the LP might have significantly less tension than my acoustic when tuned down to C.

Comment

Imho a long scale guitar and bigger gauges are a MUST for playing in anything of D or down. I already start to hate the flappyness at Eb, which is still quite tight.
      You took too much, man. Too much. Too much.

Comment

Yeah, I agree with Priest...if you're going for really low tuning, especially with a Les Paul at the shorter scale, you'll need to go with at least .012s or .013s, maybe higher if you have a heavy right hand.
        Tony

Comment