Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

97 Dinky pickup questions?? volume issue.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 97 Dinky pickup questions?? volume issue.....

Hey, I have a 1997 era Jackson Dinky plum burst quilt top USA with the standard H-S-S pickup config wiht the factory installed Seymour Duncans. Heres the deal, when I switch from hum to EITHER of the single coil pups I get a significant volume drop. [img]/images/graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img] Its kind of a nuiscance. I check the wiring and all looks fine, In fact this has been this way since I got the guitar.(it was used when I got it) My questions are:

What kind of pickups are in the Dinky?
    Are the single coils actually stacked hums? It looks like there are 4 wires on the pup plate you can see under the srtings. red, green, black, and white are the wire colors which would lead me to believe its not a single coil, but I am FAR from an expert on this.
    and if so, is that normal to have a volume drop like that?
    ANy ideas on this? Keep in mind, the sound is great, the tone is great, it just drops in volume alot. the hum is just way hotter than the singles.

Does anyone else with a dinky have this issue? or any guitar for that matter.

what can I do to solve this?? do I need to replace the middle and neck pups?? stacked hums needed there? hotrails? coolrails? JB jr???

I would appreciate any help you can provide. Thanks!!! [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
    "clean sounds are for pussies" - Axewielder

Re: 97 Dinky pickup questions?? volume issue.....

Bump [img]/images/graemlins/eyes.gif[/img]

Comment