Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jackson for Beginners???

Hey, guys, this is my first post.

I'm a beginner with only little knowledge on guitars. Can anyone suggest a good electric guitar for beginners (price range $300-700)? Yeah, I know, a lot of people suggest Squiers but I hate them and they are so cheap. Anyways, this is a Jackson forum, isn't it? [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]

I'm leaning towards the DXMG guitar, is it good?

Re: Jackson for Beginners???

Welcome dude!

The DXMG rocks!

Comment

Welcome to the board. Glad to have you here. I,m SARJ and I'm here to help.

1. Jackson is a great first guitar. Don't buy something because it's cheap, buy it because it's good.

2. My first guitar was a Fender Strat copy. It served me well, but was not suited to my type of music ( metal ) and was replaced. Buy what suits your style.

3. Comfort and playability is a big issue. If you can, test drive whatever axe you want to buy. Right there and then, you will know if it was meant to be yours.

4. You mentioned the DXMG. I will tell you right now, learn as much as you can about double locking tremelo bridges. If you go into one not knowing anything, you will be lost. Come here in the Tech Q&A section. We will help you. Get as much hands on experience you can. Locking trems are good, don't get me wrong.

5. A good model to start off with would be a Jackson DKMG with the stringthrough bridge. Beings that it is a non tremelo bridge, you wont have to worry about alot of moving parts and tuning hassles.

6. I own a Jackson DK2. I love the neck and the trem. It has a good feel to it. The necks on all Jackson guitars are thin and feel great. My DK2 is a keeper and sounds great.