Amp volume?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp volume?

I'm pretty new to tube amps and I was thinking about buying a Marshall JCM 900(or possibly 800) head(with one 4x12 cab) sometime in the future, and I was wondering whether I should look into a 50W or 100W version. I was curious as to how loud would they each get. I would want to crank it up of course to get that tube tone, but I don't want it to be painfully loud. I wouldn't want something that would barely cut through at a gig though. If I was just playing at home and I cranked the 100W would it be unbearably loud?, and how about the 50W? Would either destroy my ears? Also, would a 50W and 100W version of the same amp have any differences(in sound) other than volume? Thanks.

Re: Amp volume?

50 watts is going to be fine, and you aren't going to crank either of them at home without really pissing off your neighbors. I practice with a fairly loud drummer - never had the master over 1/4 volume on my 50 watt mesa.

Pete

Comment

Put it this way.. you'll be deaf sooner than you'd like to be with a 100 watt in your house.

I say get the 50 watter if you're going to play at home. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Comment