Pickup Swap on JS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pickup Swap on JS

I wanna swap my JS32 bridge PU for a seymour TB4. So I downloaded the schematics for 2 hums and 1 tone and 1 volume. But when I remove the rear access plate I can see that the electronics conections are totally different from that diagram, too many connections, a complete mess to my eyes. I have never done something like this but I wanna give it a try, I am a complete newbie. Can the Duncan diagram be apllied in this case, I don't wanna spend +50% more of the price of the pickup itself to have it installed.

if all you're doing is swapping one pickup for another, forget about the Duncan wiring diagram. You don't need to completely rewire your guitar.

For a straight swap, you just need to identify which wires belong to the pickup that's being replaced. Use the colour code chart in the link below to work out which Jackson wire corresponds with which Duncan wire. So where the green Jackson one previously went, replace it with the black Duncan one.

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support...ic=color_codes

Obviously, the old pickup needs to come completely out before the new one goes in, so you can't just unsolder a wire and solder in the new one as you go. So it can help to take a photo of the existing wiring, draw a little diagram, anything so that you'll remember where each wire on the bridge pickup currently goes. Then you can reference the pic/notes when you are wiring in the new pickup.
    Hail yesterday

Comment

Awesome! Thanks VitaminG that will be very helpfull. After your reply I rechecked the wires again and I finally understood what was connecting to what. Many thanks Vitamin.

Comment

Yep VG is right but please unsolder original the pick ups from their connections don't just cut them.
        Remember to solder the red and white wires together and tape them off.Best to just tape it to the rubber shield back out of the way.