Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Raising action on an OFR

Hey all,

Just sent my SL2H to a tech (usual tech is a buddy of mine who is out of town and sets up my guitars flawlessly) for a setup/tuning change. Had it in D std for a time and switched to Drop C -- Everything looks great except the action on the low strings (mainly low C and G) is too low - there's buzz on the C to the point where the tone sounds muffled.

I don't exactly want to take it back, as I'll be leaving town myself in a few days. Now I'm a bit of a tech tard (I setup my own TOM guitars & strats but the floyds are just too involved) - is raising the action an involved process? I gather I simply have to loosen the two hex screws on the front - Do I have to raise it evenly? (The problem is unilateral). Also is the whole "slack the strings or say goodbye to your knife edges" thing fact or simply guitar pseudoscience? Should I expect a drastic intonation change? Can anyone walk me through this?

Any help is much appreciated

G
    Last edited by Grim; 04-17-2014, 12:28 AM. Reason: smiley fail
    I like EL34s.

Update : Gave it a measure; a canadian quarter (~1.58mm) fits snugly (Will not fall out when guitar is 90 degrees to ground) at the 12th when the guitar is fretted at the first and 24th (or 22nd)
    I like EL34s.

Comment

It is suggested by some to loosen strings but action isn't something you change very often & the amount of post turning you'll do shouldn't cause any issues to the knife edges.

Comment

Originally posted by Force View Post
        It is suggested by some to loosen strings but action isn't something you change very often & the amount of post turning you'll do shouldn't cause any issues to the knife edges.