Help with EMG Pick UPs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with EMG Pick UPs

So I picked up a set of EMG's over the weekend and put them in an Explorer. I put in a set of Zakk Wylde EMG's 81/85 and wired it up for Volume/Volume/Tone as per the instructions that came with the set. I was very careful to follow the instructions. The EMG's sound OK... The only issue is that they just do not seem very hot? This is my first time with active pickups and I was expecting squealing feedback, pinch harmonics and super hot, high gain. Unfortunately, these pickups are in the gain range of a SD 59/JB (or even less). I was expecting a lot more - like the 59/JB's with an TS808 in front of the amp. It is almost like the battery is dead or almost dead. I have changed out the battery and have put in a brand new one. Slightly better but still a bit disappointing. Any thoughts? I have rechecked the wiring several times and everything is functioning properly - volumes and tone, switch, etc. The pick ups are quiet - no grounding issues. I have them set so high they are almost touching the strings.

Am I just expecting too much from the EMGs' or is something wrong?

Thankful for any help,

My first bets were going to be that the pickups weren't close enough to the strings or the battery was dead. They need to be really close to the strings though - basically, as close as they can be when you fret up high and damp the strings..
    Popular is not the same as good
    Rare is not the same as valuable
    Worth is what someone will pay, not what you want to get

Comment

Originally posted by Radiohead View Post