on board pre amp vs. boost pedal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• on board pre amp vs. boost pedal

After much investigation and inquiry, I've been told by Seymour Duncan Custom Shop that it's both not cost-effective and likely not possible to get a p'up made that will retain the tonal characteristics of an SD Custom but with the responsiveness (gain?) of a BMP-1 driven Blackout. Scott Miller, lead tech did say, "I have found that if you want the best of all worlds, the best thing is to use a Booster pedal, so you can have the extra line gain when you want it (and as MUCH of it as you want). Otherwise, designing something like you are describing would end up being expensive due to the amount of trial and revision it would likely require."

Having that said, I have zero experience with boost pedals. Basically, I want the tone of the Custom with the responsiveness of the pre-amp, all the time. Anyone care to suggest a booster that will do that? I don't necessarily want a volume boost- just a gain boost to increase the responsiveness of the p'up.

So you ruled out the Afterburner? I've got one in my Green Spidey strat with a Duncan Custom pup and it does this very thing.

Comment

Originally posted by Axewielder View Post
      So you ruled out the Afterburner? I've got one in my Green Spidey strat with a Duncan Custom pup and it does this very thing.
      I have not ruled out the Afterburner- I just don't know anything about it. Tell me more.

Edited to add: just did a little investigating and is it safe to assume you mean the EMG AB AfterBurner 20 dB pick up booster?
      Does it color your tone at all?
      Do you use it for leads, rhythms or both?
      Last edited by vector; 07-29-2013, 09:35 PM.

Comment